I Don’t Know Where to Give

Did you read the story of the Michigan university that just received a gift of $100 million dollars to start a hospital?

The gift was anonymous, and I certainly don’t know the details. But nonetheless it makes one pause. What were the circumstances that lead to the gift? Certainly, we’ve read or seen situations like this where a donor makes a large gift with little apparent tie to an organization. Why?

In some cases, the donors just didn’t know where to give. Think about this situation: a $100 million dollar gift to start a hospital. Does the community need a hospital? Where will the nurses and doctors come from? In this day of consolidation, will there be an overlap of services? Will this lead to another empty building somewhere?

One of the first foundation conferences I attended, a church was in attendance because they were looking at starting a foundation from scratch. Why? Because a donor had just left them a $17 million dollar gift, they were forced to scramble. In this case the donor had little relationship to the church. In short, he just didn’t know where to give.

As we see the Boomer generation heading toward retirement and the sale of their businesses, we’ll see more and more of this. If these relationships are not nurtured, maintained, found and developed, we’ll see more desperation gifts—gifts with no apparent relationship to the charity.

Indeed, how much better if the donor can learn to develop his natural passion for giving and can develop a strategic plan for giving. That approach will take a wise and seasoned team set up to serve givers in that way.

William High is the President of the Servant Foundation (www.servantchristian.com). Servant’s mission is to inspire, teach and facilitate revolutionary biblical generosity. He may be reached at whigh@servantchristian.com.

One Response to “I Don’t Know Where to Give”

  1. Pastor Jack Wilson Says:

    When wondering about these things I think we tend to leave out the “God Factor”.
    I believe in doing everything as if it depended on us and if the outcome is right, give God the glory.
    I applied to a well known organization for a grant to build a compound here in Payatas. A Church,school, medical clinic…
    I received a letter, after three months , that said the organization only gives to places that it finds on it’s own.
    I saw some of the places it gave to and they were the large organizations with huge budgets. So I asked myself, how does one get the funds to make such a dream happen?
    I believe God, touches the heart that writes the check.
    That’s the final analysis and I did not like to hear it. I wanted to be able to write that letter that appealed to good sense and a benevolent spirit. Now, I put myself in God’s hands. That doesn’t mean I stop trying. It just means the project is His and the bottom line is, when He wants it, He will pay for it.


Comments are closed.

