Silence

There’s an old cliché that Silence is Golden.  When my kids were young and I was a stay at home mom I would have followed that cliché with a resounding Amen!  But as a giver I feel a little differently.

When I give it’s because I want to be a part of something – something bigger than myself.  The reality is that I am not Rockefeller or Gates when it comes to the dollars I give. . . but my heart doesn’t know the difference.  The dollars, limited as they may be, are expressions of my heart. I want to be a part of something. I want to make a difference. It is a journey that I am slowly growing in but I admit that I wonder if the organizations that I give to understand or care about that journey.

Being part of the Servant Foundation I get to be part of some pretty major gifts and as a Foundation representative I receive many notes of appreciation and encouragement.  But the personal giving side looks much different. A note of thanks is a rarity.  Sometimes there is literally no communication – form letter, receipt or otherwise.  In this case, Silence is Deafening. Without communication I assume my giving doesn’t matter.

Earlier this week the silence ended. I received a hand-written, personal note from a ministry leader that made my heart leap for joy. The interesting thing is that this ministry is one I haven’t given to in several years.  The note was a reflection of what our personal support (not just the giving but the words of encouragement, etc) meant to this leader.  It served as a reminder that maybe the little guy can make a difference.  The note caused me to revisit the ministry and re-engage my commitment to the cause.  Guess who’s on the top of my giving list this year?

Posted in For Ministry. Tags: . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Silence”

  1. Pastor Jack Wilson Says:

    This post is all too true. As a Pastor in one of the poorest places in the Philippines, I run across many children and adults begging. A quick determination to be sure they are really in need and my hand goes to my pocket to find whatever I might share. Too many times the person takes it, turns and walks away. Sometimes I yell after them, “Salamat” which means thank you. Then they might turn and repeat the phrase. I need the tahnk you. It reaffirms that I have done something to help and as you said, “Without communication I assume my giving doesn’t matter.”
    I always return a hand written email when donations come through the internet. If they come by check into our account and there is no email, I then email a letter to our man in the U.S. and he will print and send it out.
    I also believe it is so incredibly important to let donors know that their funds make a difference to you and that you care about them.
    Donors are our partners in Christ and have as much hand in the outcome of this ministry as we do.


Comments are closed.

