How Foolish it is to Give

They are young, 20 somethings, married, but bitten by a bug. Not the typical bug mind you. They headed off to Malawi a few years back, and they met the children there.

These weren’t just any children. They were poor, utterly poor. They were skinny, protruding bellies.  They could stand a little protein and a few good meals, but what was most remarkable in their poverty were the smiles. These were the smiles of joy, gratefulness, and even mischief. What love flowed! It was if they did not know their own poverty.

So Josh and Kristen were changed. They came back and sold their nice big house. They bought a smaller place. But curses, they went back to Malawi again, and they saw those same smiles. When they came back, they sold again for a still smaller place. I think this went on a couple more times until they were living in half a duplex.

I suspect their neighbors thought them crazy. Perhaps their family as well—after all, how foolish it is to give! Why should I give up a place to live? Why should I reduce my standard of living? How much do I really need?

I’ve never been to Malawi, but still I can’t escape those images of those children with the flashing smiles, and the skinny arms draped around American shoulders. And I find myself asking why is it so foolish to give, and yet why is it so foolish to hold on? What do you think?

William F. High is the President/General Counsel of the Servant Christian Community Foundation (www.servantchristian.com). Servant’s mission is to inspire, teach and facilitate revolutionary biblical generosity. He may be reached at whigh@servantchristian.com.

 

Posted in For Givers. Tags: , . Comments Off on How Foolish it is to Give
