Make Your Charity Stand Out to Donors

Giving to many charities has decreased while the IRS reports that the number of charities continues to rise.  Another way to say that: more charities are competing for fewer dollars.  In this environment, it’s the little things that can make you stand out.

I recently received a hand written thank you note from a large ministry that my husband and I have supported with small gifts over the years. My husband actually called me at work to tell me about the note because he was so impressed.  We have always loved the work of this ministry but had begun to question whether God was leading us to support them.  This note was the prompting we needed to stay plugged into their work.

And it’s not just me.  The Wall Street Journal recently published an article about the impact of the decline in our ability to write well. Read it here.  I welcome your feedback on whether it’s worthwhile to take the time to send a handwritten note.  Are my husband and I wrong for thinking more highly of the ministry that took the time to write us personally?

Posted in For Givers, For Ministry, Your thoughts. Comments Off on Make Your Charity Stand Out to Donors
