Thankful

Being nine months pregnant, I have a lot of time to think – mostly in the middle of the night while the rest of my family sleeps.  At 2:00am last night, I was beginning to feel sorry for myself when I remembered some advice I heard at the Global Leadership Summit (hosted by Willow Creek; for more summaries, try this site).  Jim Collins, secular business guru and author of How the Mighty Fall, told the crowd that one mark of a good leader is counting the blessings.  Literally, count them.  He said seeing the number of good things that happen to us through little to no effort of our own creates humility.  Counting our blessings puts us in a good place with our Maker, the source of all those good things.  Thankfulness is also the beginning of generosity.

So, I encourage you to make your list of blessings.  I’ll share my first few:

1.  I’m thankful I work for a company that invests in my development through tools like the Summit.

2.  I’m thankful I have access to nutrition and health care for my boys.

3.  I’m thankful for the aching joints, sleepless nights, and headaches that accompany pregnancy.

4.  I’m thankful for seeing the activity of God in all the ministries who have made it to the second round of review for the Passion Awards.

5.  I’m thankful for accountability, especially when it comes with a healthy dose of love and mercy.

